Tuesday, May 5, 2009

A Little Quiz...

One of subjects that we discussed at length with Robb Wolf was the effect of gluten on the body. Gluten contains celiac which can cause a variety of intolerances in the body. These can vary in severity, but all effect the immune system of the body. If you would like some more information regarding this please visit Robb Wolf's website (www.robbwolf.com). Ideally we should be gluten free, however, decreasing the amount of gluten in our diets is a great starting point.
Quiz: How many of the products pictured above contain gluten?
A: The bread
B: The bread and the pita
C: Steel cut oats
D: Soy Sauce
E: All of the above
Post your answers to comments.

6 comments:

Kim said...

I am going for answer E. A little unsure about the soy sauce, but it's sort of an odd one to have up there. Must be there for a reason. I love learning new things! Keep up the great work Michele!

Jonny V. said...

Soy sauce is steeped in wheat during the extraction process -- I don't exactly know why, but people who are highly allergic to wheat cannot have soy sauce. It is actually listed on the ingredients, which was a shock to me too. Maybe Michelle can explain more . . .

Trixie said...

Off topic,but I mentioned your blog here:http:http://mizfitonline.com/2009/05/06/label-reading-2/
They were discussing the Zone Diet and I commented below.

Katie said...

All of them, although as far as I know oats on their own don't contain gluten. However they are most commonly grown in the same fields as wheat or nearby, that they get contaminated. That is my understanding of the oat issue, anyways.

Lynn said...

All of them. The only one that's iffy is the oatmeal, and that's because pure oatmeal will test negative to gluten, but most oatmeal is mixed with flour when processed. My boyfriend is celiac, so this is something I've had to deal a lot with. Thanks for bringing it up!

Sabrina said...

I'm sure it was just a typo, but gluten does not "contain" Celiac. Celiac is a disease wherein eating gluten causes damage to the mucosa of the intestine. You can be gluten intolerant and not have Celiac disease-- it is merely one type of gluten intolerance. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye.

And in answer to your question, all of those products contain gluten. Soy sauce contains wheat (you can get wheat-free tamari instead) and oats do not contain gluten but are contaminated with wheat during processing (the machines are coated with flour to prevent sticking).

Good blog-- I like all your recipes! :)


CrossFit Santa Cruz Central